Updated September 28, 2026
Quiet paddles are sold as a product decision. They are actually a jurisdiction decision. Whether
you need one depends entirely on who controls the court you play on, and the rules differ so much
from place to place that the same paddle can be mandatory in one town, irrelevant in the next and
banned from a retirement community’s list in a third.
Whether you need a quiet paddle depends on who controls your court, not on the paddle market. USA Pickleball launched its Quiet Category on 25 September 2023, requiring certified products to cut acoustic output to roughly 50% or less of typical park equipment, and its acoustic equipment page currently lists 17 certified quiet paddles. Some venues now mandate them outright — Laguna Beach designated Lang Park quiet-paddle-only from 10 April 2025.
This page covers the rules: who sets them, what they actually require, what the enforcement
looks like, and what a quiet paddle costs you on court. For the current list of paddles that have
passed USA Pickleball’s certification, see our companion page on
what actually meets the
rules.
Three different rulebooks, and only one of them is national
USA Pickleball’s Quiet Category launched on 25 September 2023 after what the
organisation describes as fifteen months of acoustic research with outside experts. Its published
criterion is relative rather than absolute: a certified product must reduce acoustic output to
“essentially 50 percent or less of the acoustic footprint of equipment commonly used in community
parks.” Seventeen paddles have passed, along with four paddle covers and four quiet balls.
HOAs and clubs run their own lists, and they long predate the national
programme. The best-known is Sun City Grand’s Green Zone in Surprise, Arizona, whose paddle chart
is dated 24 November 2012 — roughly eleven years before USA Pickleball’s category existed.
Green Zone is a community association designation, not a USA Pickleball programme, and it is worth
being clear about that because a lot of gear pages describe it as though it were national. Sun City
Grand’s own rules document is blunt about enforcement: “My paddle is not on the list, can I use it?
A: No.” Violations can cost a resident club privileges or all resident privileges. Similar regimes
run at Fountain of the Sun, the Causeway Club and plenty of others.
Municipalities are the newest rulebook and the fastest moving. Laguna Beach,
California made Lang Park “a mandated quiet paddle pickleball facility” effective 10 April 2025,
points players at USA Pickleball’s acoustic equipment list, and sells discounted approved paddles at
its community centre. Play is restricted to Tuesday through Saturday from 8 a.m. to dusk, Sundays
and holidays from 9 a.m., and the courts are closed on Mondays.
What the standard does not tell you
Here is the part that surprised us. USA Pickleball does not publish its acoustic test
protocol. There is no published microphone distance, no fixture geometry, no impact speed,
no A- or C-weighting, and no numeric pass-fail threshold on either usapickleball.org or the
equipment site. The organisation says it provides “test fixture requirements and procedures to
manufacturers during development.” That is all.
Plenty of gear pages state a threshold anyway, usually “below 80 dBA and 600 Hz.” Those two
numbers come from USA Pickleball’s November 2023 announcement of the OWL as its first certified
product, where they describe the OWL paddle’s measured performance against
industry-standard paddles at 85+ decibels and 1,100–1,200 hertz. They are one paddle’s
results, not a published criterion, and repeating them as the standard is how a marketing figure
becomes folklore.
The only place USA Pickleball publishes actual decibel numbers is a separate, weaker “Lower
Acoustic Profile” tier, which is not Quiet Category certification: the Onix Fuse at 83.3 dBA and the
Monarch Outdoor at 81.6 dBA. No measurement distance is given for those either. Certification dates
are not published for any paddle on the list.
The measurements that do exist, and why they look contradictory
Independent decibel figures for pickleball range from about 62 to about 106. That looks like
disagreement and is mostly distance.
| Source | Figure | Measured at |
|---|---|---|
| Crawford Lindsey, Tennis Warehouse University | 99–106 dB peak | 1 metre, ~45° |
| USA Pickleball, Lower Acoustic Profile tier | 81.6–83.3 dBA | Not stated |
| Bob Unetich, Pickleball Sound Mitigation | ~70 dBA hard contact; ~59 dBA average match | 100 feet |
| Stafford Paddles (manufacturer) | Under 65 dB | 50 feet |
| Lone Tree, Colorado litigation | 62 dB | Not stated |
Lindsey’s is the most rigorous protocol published: a ball dropped as a pendulum from 72 cm
at about 3.8 m/s, a calibrated microphone at one metre and 45 degrees, a 30 ms window
analysed from 0 to 2,000 Hz. His own caution is the useful one — perceived loudness does
not track peak sound pressure alone, which is why a 106 dB peak at the paddle and a genuine
complaint from a house 200 feet away are both true at once.
Unetich, a retired engineer and former Carnegie Mellon professor who founded Pickleball Sound
Mitigation in 2021 and has co-authored peer-reviewed papers on this, gives the comparison that
actually lands: pickleball at about 70 dBA at 100 feet against tennis at about 40. His own words:
“I appreciate the problem and frankly wouldn’t want to live next to numbers like 70 decibels over
and over every four seconds for eight hours a day.”
One genuine unreconciled conflict: USA Pickleball put a standard paddle at 85+ decibels in 2023,
while an August 2026 report puts it at 90 at the same 1,100–1,200 Hz. Neither states a
distance, so neither can be checked against the other.
What actually makes a paddle quieter
Lindsey’s controlled experiments found three structural properties that reduce effective
loudness: greater core thickness, greater effective mass at the impact point, and a higher moment
of inertia — which is to say a higher swing weight. Adding mass to a paddle decreases total
sound power, and foam surface treatments reduced noise by roughly 50% in his testing. Unetich’s
practical version is the same: thicker paddles with softer faces, up to about 7 dBA quieter, and
paddles whose frequency sits below 1 kHz.
Read those two lists together and the tradeoff becomes obvious before you ever pick one up.
Thicker, heavier and higher swing weight is the recipe for quiet, and it is also the recipe for a
paddle that is slower in your hands. If you want the numbers behind that, our guide to
swing weight and
twist weight explains what a higher moment of inertia costs at the net.
The other structural point is unavoidable: raw carbon surfaces, which are the best for spin, are
louder. Maximum spin and the Quiet Category are largely incompatible priorities. Manufacturers get
around it with engineered faces — Diadem’s eTPU foam face on the 18 mm Hush, OWL’s
Acoustene composite, ProXR’s “Quiet Fabric” — but OWL’s technology page names no engineers and
offers no technical explanation of what Acoustene is, so treat those as claims rather than findings.
What a quiet paddle costs you on court
Four reviewers who actually played these paddles converge on the same answer, and it is narrower
than the category’s reputation suggests. The cost is power and sweet-spot size, plus an
acclimation period. Control and spin come out fine.
PickleBowls’ playtesters scored the OWL Founders Edition 9.5 out of 10 for control and reset and
6.5 for power, noting that “baseline depth requires full swings for advanced players.” Drew McCartt
rated the Diadem Hush 4.5 out of 5 after several weeks of games, praising its power and spin but
reporting that he struggled with dinks and drops at first because of a smaller sweet spot, and
advising “plenty of acclimation time.” Brandon Mackie of Pickleheads, who plays each paddle for a
minimum of five hours across at least two sessions, is the most sceptical about the category as a
whole — “Most aren’t worth your money – they’re flimsy or trade off too much power”
— while naming the Whisper Silencer at $200 as “actually powerful and well-balanced” and his
top pick.
Current prices where they are published: OWL CX $129, OWL PXE $169, Diadem Hush $189.95,
Stafford Blackbird and Nighthawk $199 each, Whisper Silencer $200, Gearbox Pro Ultimate Power 14mm
$274.99. The ProXR Quiet Luxury shows sold out. Selkirk’s Q1 quiet ball is $12 for three, which is
the cheapest experiment in this whole category and the one Selkirk argues addresses the sound at its
source.
Check tournament approval separately. Quiet certification and the USA Pickleball
approved paddle list are two different listings and passing one does not mean passing the other. One
reviewer reports the Diadem Hush as quiet-certified but not tournament approved, while OWL’s CX page
claims both. Verify your exact model against the approved paddle list before you enter anything. Our
page on delisted and
decertified paddles explains how easily these lists diverge.
What happens when the rules fail
Three recent outcomes are worth knowing, because they show what is actually at stake.
In Boise, a lawsuit ended on 25 August 2025 with the city converting six pickleball courts at
Willow Lane and the courts at Manitou Park to tennis-only and locking them, and paying the
plaintiffs $7,000. The parks director said the decision “has not been made lightly and comes after
years of sincere attempts to find a compromise.” One plaintiff’s summary: “Pickleball is a great
sport; it just doesn’t belong right next to homes.”
In Lone Tree, Colorado, a district court found on 31 October 2025 that neighbours likely could
not sue the recreation centre for nuisance at all, because the facility is government-owned. Noise
there was measured at 62 decibels. That ruling matters well beyond Colorado: it means the remedy at
a public facility is political rather than legal.
In Methuen, Massachusetts, the city began requiring quiet paddles on three courts in July 2026.
A resident sued in Essex Superior Court in August 2026 anyway, saying it had not worked. Which is
the honest limit of this equipment: a park district director in Illinois points out that complaints
there also cover “players cheering, talking loudly and yelling.” A quiet paddle addresses the pop.
It does not address the sport.
What to do about it, in order
Find out which rulebook governs your court before you buy anything — an HOA list, a city
mandate, or nothing at all. If it is an HOA list, buy from that list, not from the USA Pickleball
one, because they are not the same and the HOA’s list is the one being enforced. If it is a city
mandate, check whether they subsidise paddles; Laguna Beach sells approved ones at a discount. If
you are on a private court and choosing voluntarily, start with a $12 pack of quiet balls before a
$200 paddle.
And if the argument in your neighbourhood is about siting rather than paddles, the number being
used is distance. The Noise Pollution Clearinghouse’s model ordinance, published 26 September 2024
on the EPA’s model, recommends 55 dBA daytime and 50 dBA overnight with an extra 5 dB reduction
applied to impulsive sounds like pickleball, and puts its primary recommendation on setback: 800
feet minimum, 1,200 for evening play. A park district superintendent in Illinois put the practical
version more usefully: “Today, I’d be hesitant for less than 750 feet” from homes.
Compare quiet paddle listings on Amazon, or check the certified list
direct at USA
Pickleball before buying anything for a regulated court.
For the paddles themselves, our companion page on
quiet paddles that meet the
rules has the certified list, and our
control paddle guide
covers the closest thing to a quiet paddle’s feel among uncertified options. For how we source and
evaluate gear, see how we evaluate
gear.
Frequently asked questions
What is a USA Pickleball quiet certified paddle?
One certified under the Quiet Category USA Pickleball announced on 25 September 2023, following 15 months of acoustic research with outside experts. Certification requires reducing acoustic output to essentially 50 percent or less of the footprint of equipment commonly used in community parks. The first certified product was the OWL by OWL Sport, announced 14 November 2023, which USA Pickleball described as measuring below 80 decibels against industry-standard paddles at 85 or more, and below 600 hertz against 1,100–1,200 hertz.
How many quiet pickleball paddles are certified?
USA Pickleball’s acoustic equipment page lists 17. They include the OWL Founders Edition, CX, CXE, PX and PXE; the Diadem Hush in Black and Purple; the NineFour Apex Pro Series 3k; the Gearbox Pro Ultimate Power 14mm, Pro Ultimate Elongated and Pro Ultimate Hyper; the ProXR Quiet Luxury; the Silent Storm SS1; the Stafford Blackbird 67db and Nighthawk 66db; and the Whisper Silencer.
How loud is a pickleball paddle in decibels?
It depends entirely on where the microphone is, which is why published figures look contradictory. Crawford Lindsey at Tennis Warehouse University measured peak levels of 99–106 decibels at 1 metre across every paddle he tested. Bob Unetich, measuring at distance, recorded hard paddle-to-ball contact at about 70 dBA at 100 feet and average match noise at about 59 dBA, against tennis at about 40 dBA. An August 2026 report puts a standard paddle at 90 decibels at 1,100–1,200 Hz.
Does a quiet paddle actually reduce noise complaints?
Not on its own. Bob Unetich’s measurements put the gain from thicker paddles with softer faces at up to 7 dBA and from quieter balls at 1–3 dBA. In Methuen, Massachusetts the city began requiring quiet paddles on three courts in July 2026 and Stephen Tarquinio, who sued the city with at least four neighbours in August 2026, says it was ineffective. Distance does more: the Noise Pollution Clearinghouse model ordinance recommends setbacks of 800 feet minimum and 1,200 feet for evening play.
What does a quiet pickleball paddle cost?
Between $129 and $275. OWL sells the CX at $129 with an Acoustene composite face over a 16mm polypropylene honeycomb core, claiming both quiet certification and USAP tournament approval. Diadem sells the Hush at $189.95, Stafford the Blackbird and Nighthawk at $199 each, ProXR the Quiet Luxury at an MSRP of $209.99, and Gearbox the Pro Ultimate Power 14mm at $274.99. Selkirk’s Q1 Quiet Ball is $12 for a 3-pack and attacks the noise at the source instead.
Can a community ban my pickleball paddle?
A private community can, and some do. Sun City Grand’s association rules define Green and Red Zones for paddles, state that a paddle not on the list cannot be used, and warn that violations can cost club or all resident privileges. Worth knowing before you trust that list: its paddle chart is dated 24 November 2012, the testing behind it combined an independent sound study company with club testing and a simple ear test during play, and no decibel threshold was ever published.