Updated October 10, 2026
Updated 10 October 2026: corrected the Six Zero Coral Pro’s certification status in the alternatives section. A USAP-approved Coral Pro record now exists, for one shape and one surface finish only.
Buy the Vatic Pro Prism Flash 16mm if you are a 2.5 to 4.0 player who wants a raw carbon control paddle and does not want to spend more than $100 on it. It is the paddle that made the $200 control paddles look overpriced in 2023, and three years on, still at $99.99, it has not been displaced from that job. Skip it if you want power, if you have already found honeycomb cores too soft for your pace, or if you need a paddle you can buy at any retailer — JustPaddles has stopped stocking it.
We have not played this paddle. What follows synthesizes testing published by Pickleball Effect and Pickleball Studio, specs from Vatic Pro’s product page and JustPaddles, and a 14mm-versus-16mm comparison from BePickleballer. Where they disagree we say so. Our method is on how we evaluate gear.
What it is, and what happened to the name
Some housekeeping first, because the naming confuses people. Vatic Pro sells one paddle called the Prism, at $99.99, in three shapes: Flash (hybrid), V7 (elongated) and Bloom (widebody), each in 14mm and 16mm. “Prism Flash” is the hybrid shape of the Prism. There is no separate V7 paddle any more; the paddle in our older Vatic V7 review is the discontinued original, and today’s V7 is a Prism shape. This review covers the Flash, in both thicknesses.
Construction is what the industry loosely calls a Gen 2 build — a term brands apply informally, not a governed standard: a thermoformed unibody with foam-injected edge walls, a polymer honeycomb core, and a raw Toray T700 carbon face with heat-compressed texturing. Vatic quotes a 4.125-inch octagonal grip with two polyurethane inserts in the handle, a 5.3-inch standard handle or a 5.75-inch long-handle option, and a TPU edge guard. A paddle cover is included.
Specs, with sources
| Spec | Flash 16mm | Flash 14mm | Source |
|---|---|---|---|
| Price | $99.99 | $99.99 | vaticpro.com |
| Static weight | 8.1 oz (PE); 7.9–8.2 oz range (PS); 8.0 oz sample (BePickleballer) | 7.7–7.9 oz range; 7.7 oz sample (BePickleballer) | Pickleball Effect, Pickleball Studio, BePickleballer |
| Swing weight | 114 | 111 | PE and PS (16mm); PS (14mm, 2023 Flash) |
| Twist weight | 6.4 (PE); 6.47 (PS) | not published | Pickleball Effect, Pickleball Studio |
| Length x width | 16.2 x 7.7 in (Vatic); 16.3 x 7.7 (JustPaddles) | same | vaticpro.com, JustPaddles |
| Handle | 5.3 in standard, 5.75 in long (Vatic); 5.4 in (PE) | same | vaticpro.com, Pickleball Effect |
| Grip | 4.125 in (Vatic, JustPaddles); 4.25 in (PE) | same | vaticpro.com, JustPaddles, Pickleball Effect |
| Face | Raw Toray T700 carbon, heat-compressed texture | vaticpro.com | |
| Core | 16mm C7 polymer honeycomb | 14mm C7 polymer honeycomb | vaticpro.com, JustPaddles |
| Certification | USAP approved (per JustPaddles listing) | JustPaddles | |
| Warranty | 180 days (JustPaddles); 90 days at 2023 launch (PS) | JustPaddles, Pickleball Studio | |
Two of those rows need a note. On grip, Vatic and JustPaddles both say 4.125 inches while Pickleball Effect measured 4.25; a tape-measure difference of an eighth of an inch is one overgrip’s worth, so trust the brand figure and expect it to sit a touch larger in hand. On handle, Vatic’s own page lists 5.3 inches standard and Pickleball Effect measured 5.4. Neither gap changes the buying decision, but if you are on the fence between grip sizes, this is a paddle to buy small.
Vatic’s product page does not state certification. JustPaddles lists the Flash as USAP approved, and Pickleball Studio described the original Flash as USA Pickleball approved in 2023. Check the official approved list yourself before a sanctioned event; we have not seen a UPA-A listing for it, which means it is not the paddle for a pro qualifier, and that is irrelevant to nearly everyone reading this.
What the testers measured
The measured numbers agree unusually well across benches. Pickleball Effect has the 16mm Flash at 8.1 oz static, 114 swing weight and 6.4 twist weight. Pickleball Studio, on its own rig, got 114 swing weight and 6.47 twist weight across a 7.9–8.2 oz weight range. Two labs within a tenth of a point on twist weight is as close as this niche gets. For reference, Pickleball Effect measured the elongated V7 shape at 128 swing weight and 6.96 twist weight at 8.4 oz, which is the whole tradeoff between the two shapes in two numbers: the V7 is more stable off-centre and noticeably slower to swing. If those terms are new, swing weight vs twist weight explains what they change.
On the performance side, Pickleball Effect scores the Flash 94% for control and feel, 79% for power, 88% for spin and 89% for forgiveness, and its summary is that the paddle delivers a plush feel that is easier to control. The line that matters most: Pickleball Effect judged both Prism shapes to perform nearly identically to the $220 JOOLA Hyperion CFS 16. Pickleball Studio, reviewing in August 2023, reached the same conclusion from a different direction — its title asked why anyone would spend $200-plus — and called it the best $90–100 value available, listing the Hyperion CFS at $219, the Six Zero Double Black Diamond and the Franklin Signature as its comparison set.
Pickleball Studio’s spin number, from its own camera rig rather than any certification protocol, was about 1,900 RPM. That was high-tier in 2023; current spin leaders measure well above it on the same kind of third-party rigs, so treat it as “plenty for a control paddle” rather than a headline.
Control, power, spin, sweet spot
Control is the reason to buy this paddle. Pickleball Studio: “these are absolutely both control paddles,” with resets and third-shot drops performing exceptionally well. Pickleball Effect’s testers reported consistent soft-game improvement. The mechanism is the 16mm honeycomb behind a raw carbon face: longer dwell, softer launch, more margin on the shots that decide rec games.
Power is the reason not to. Pickleball Studio was blunt: power is “the one area that I wouldn’t get your hopes up for,” comparing it to first-generation paddles with only minimal superiority. Pickleball Effect’s 79% power score and its note that the paddle lacks significant power generation say the same thing. If your game runs on drives and speedups, this is the wrong $100.
Spin is above what the price suggests. Pickleball Effect’s 88% is a strong score, and Pickleball Studio credited the face with making drop shots consistent. One wrinkle from Pickleball Studio’s earlier May 2023 review of the pre-Prism Flash: the 14mm and 16mm faces at that time used different peel-ply textures, with the 14mm tighter. We could not confirm whether that difference survives in the current Prism, so if spin is your deciding factor, do not assume the two thicknesses are identical.
Sweet spot. Pickleball Studio: “both versions of the Prisms have fantastic sweet spots” with no noticeable limitations. Pickleball Effect’s 89% forgiveness score agrees. That is unusual for a 7.7-inch-wide hybrid at this price and is the main reason the Flash works for beginners who would normally be steered to a widebody; if you want the extra width anyway, the Bloom shape is the same paddle at 16.0 by 8.0 inches.
14mm or 16mm
The 16mm is the version for most people, including every beginner. The 14mm exists for players who have outgrown the softness and want the ball off the face faster.
BePickleballer’s comparison, which weighed samples of each, puts it in plain terms: the 16mm wins on control because the thicker core absorbs the ball; the 14mm wins on hand speed (its sample weighed 7.7 oz against 8.0 oz for the 16mm), on spin and on pop, and the author aims the 14mm at 4.0-plus players. Sweet spot was a draw. Pickleball Studio’s 2023 Flash review split along the same line, with the reviewer preferring the stiffer, more predictable 14mm for their own tournament play while recommending the 16mm to most players. Pickleball Effect only tested the 16mm and said it wished a 14mm existed; one does, but its measured swing and twist weight have not been published, so the 111 swing weight figure in our table is Pickleball Studio’s for the 2023 Flash 14mm and may not match the current Prism exactly.
The rule we would use: 16mm unless you already know your problem is too little pop, not too little control. If you are reading a beginner review, that is not your problem yet. Our guide on how a thick paddle helps your game covers why.
Durability and warranty
Pickleball Studio’s 2023 review praised the single-piece handle as a fix for the handle-snapping problems that dogged the Hyperion at the time, and noted Vatic’s 90-day warranty as a weakness against six-month warranties elsewhere. JustPaddles now lists a 180-day manufacturer’s warranty on both thicknesses, which closes that gap. Pickleball Effect names durability, specifically a lower delamination risk than thermoformed power paddles, as a reason to choose it. JustPaddles’ three customer reviews average 4.5 for durability; that is a sample of three, so weigh it accordingly.
The bigger availability issue: JustPaddles lists both Flash thicknesses as discontinued and out of stock, and Pickleball Effect’s August 2026 Hot List flags the same. Vatic Pro’s own site still sells the Prism in all three shapes at full price, so “discontinued” here means retailers have dropped it, not that Vatic has. Buy direct or from Amazon, and do not expect to find it in a store.
Two alternatives
Vatic Pro V-Sol Pro 16mm — $10 more for a foam core
Same brand, $109.99, and the honeycomb is replaced with a 16mm expanded polypropylene foam core, the construction that now accounts for roughly 70% of USA Pickleball approvals. Foam cores are generally the softer, plusher end of the spectrum. The trade: you are paying $10 for a newer build whose long-term durability has a shorter track record than the Prism’s three years, and independently measured swing and twist weight for the V-Sol Pro’s widebody shape were not something we could find. If you want the market’s current direction, take it; if you want the paddle with the most published data behind it, the Prism has it.
Six Zero Coral 16mm — the same idea at twice the price
The Coral is the consensus top all-court pick at around $200, a 16mm full-foam core under a raw carbon Diamond-Tough face, and its hybrid shape measures 8.1 oz static, 112 swing weight and 6.52 twist weight — almost the same swing as the Flash with slightly more stability. What the extra $100 buys is the foam core, a Diamond-Tough face that held its texture in our grit durability roundup, and the paddle that tops both Pickleball Studio’s and Pickleball Effect’s current lists. What it does not buy is a control gap you will feel at 3.5. Two cautions: the standard Coral is USA Pickleball approved in all three shapes, while the Coral Pro has exactly one USAP record — the 16mm hybrid with the smooth Peel Ply face, added 1 October 2026, which is not the rough-faced version Six Zero’s store was shipping on 10 October 2026 — and the names are easy to mix up at checkout; we untangled them in Coral vs Coral Pro.
If $100 is already a stretch, the fiberglass Rokne Curve Classic at $53.99 on clearance is the sensible step down, with the caveat that it is a 13mm core and is being discontinued.
Verdict
The Prism Flash 16mm is the best-documented $100 paddle on the market: two independent labs agree on its numbers, both rate its control near the top of anything at any price, and both put its power near the bottom. That profile is exactly what a first or second paddle should have. For a beginner shopping our first-paddle framework, it is the $100 option we would point to, and the Bloom shape is the same recommendation with more width.
Don’t buy this if you want power, if you are a 4.0-plus player who has already found honeycomb cores too soft, or if you need to try before you buy — JustPaddles, the retailer most people demo through, has dropped it. And buy the 16mm unless you can articulate why you want the 14mm.
Check Vatic Pro Prism Flash pricing on Amazon · Buy direct from Vatic Pro ($99.99) · More beginner paddles
Frequently asked questions
Is the Vatic Pro Prism Flash still a good paddle in 2026?
Yes. It is still $99.99 direct from Vatic Pro, and both Pickleball Effect and Pickleball Studio rate its control near the top of anything at any price, with Pickleball Effect judging it nearly identical in performance to the $220 JOOLA Hyperion CFS 16. Its weakness is unchanged too: power is near the bottom of its class.
Should I get the Prism Flash in 14mm or 16mm?
16mm for most players, including every beginner. The thicker core absorbs the ball for more control and a bigger margin on resets and drops. The 14mm is lighter (about 7.7 oz vs 8.0 oz on BePickleballer’s samples), quicker and poppier, and is aimed at 4.0-plus players who already know they want more pace, not more control.
Is the Vatic Pro Prism Flash USA Pickleball approved?
JustPaddles lists the Flash as USAP approved and Pickleball Studio described the original Flash as USA Pickleball approved in 2023, but Vatic’s own product page does not state certification. Check the model on the official approved paddle list before a sanctioned event. We have not seen a UPA-A listing for it, which only matters for pro qualifiers.
Why is the Prism Flash listed as discontinued at JustPaddles?
Because retailers have dropped it, not because Vatic has. JustPaddles lists both thicknesses as discontinued and out of stock, but vaticpro.com still sells the Prism in all three shapes (Flash, V7, Bloom) at $99.99. Buy direct or on Amazon; do not expect to find it in a store or a demo program.
What is the difference between the Prism Flash, V7 and Bloom?
They are the same paddle in three shapes. Flash is the hybrid (16.2 x 7.7 in, 114 swing weight, 6.4 twist weight per Pickleball Effect); V7 is elongated (16.5 x 7.5 in, 128 swing weight, 6.96 twist weight, so more stable and slower); Bloom is the widebody (16.0 x 8.0 in) and is the shape to take if you want the biggest sweet spot.
How we review gear — including how we get the paddles we test and what the money never touches — is documented in our review methodology.